Mommy

Helen VazquezToday is my mommy’s birthday…she would have turned 65.  She’s been gone for almost five years now, but it never stops sucking that she’s gone.  I miss her for selfish reasons like wanting her to be around when I had finally graduated from college, and I wish she could be there for when I get married and have kids.  She was a major promoter of the importance of family and she is definitely the source for my interest in research my family tree.  Luckily, I was bit by the genealogy bug early and we were able to have many discussions about family photos, the connections to those relatives, and the stories that brought those relatives to life.  Her name was Helen.

One thought on “Mommy

  1. I was 15 when my father died. I am 63 and I still think about him almost every day. Your work in your family genealogy will keep her memory alive for generations.

Leave a Reply

